Archbishop Dr. John O. Onaiyekan (President)

Most Rev. Daniel Okoh
(Vice President)

Engr. S.L.S. Salifu
(General Secretary)

Supt. Apostle Akin Omojola JP
(Assistant General Secretary)

Pastor Paul F. Usman

Arc. M.A. Adeyo
(Centre Manager)

Mr. Cletus Alu
(Financial Officer)







The objectives of the Assoication are:

* To serve as a basis of response to the unity of the church especially as     conatined in our Lord's pastoral prayer that they all may be one
    - John 17 : 21.

* To promote understanding, peace and unity among the various people and     strata of society in Nigeria through the propagation of the gospel.

* To act as a liaison committee by means of which its member - Churches can    consult together and when necessary make common Statement and take    comman actions.

* To act as watch person of the Spiritual and moral welfare of the Nation.

CAN was registered under the perpetual succession Act Cap 98 of Federal Republic of Nigeria in Lagos on 19 December 1986 with Rev. Fr. Anthony Okogie, Pastor J.G. Sakpo, Charles Williams, Rev. Mgr. John Ogbonna and Clifford Mobolaji Smith as the trustees.

The first constitution was signed on 20th April 1977 the founding fathers with:

Catholic (CSN): represented by

* His Eminence Cardinal Ekandem (late) who was the first President of CAN    1976 - 1986

* His Grace Archbishop Francis Arinze

* His Grace Cardinal Anthony Okogie - second President 1988 - 1995

* Rt. Rev. John A. Ogbonna

Christian Council of Nigeria (CCN): represented by:

* Rt. Rev. Festus O. Segun

* Rt. Rev. Rogers O. Uwadi

* Rev. Dr. Joseph A. Adegbite - first Gen. Secretary CAN 1976 - 1988

* Mr. Charles O. William - Second Gen. Sec. CAN 1988 - 2002

Others were represented by

* Pastor I. C. Sakpo (Apostolic Church)

* Rev. E.A Atilade (Gospel Baptist Church)

The 3rd president was Prelate S. Mbang - 1994 - 2003

The 4th President was Primate J.P Akinola - 2003 - 2007

3rd General Secretary appointed in acting capacity was Snr. Ap Iheme 2002 - 2003.

The current General Secretary is Engr. S.L.S Salifu appointed February 2004 while the first Ass. General Secretary Supt. Apostle Akin Omojola was appointed 1st May 2007.

At the 7th General Assempbly held on july 6, 2007, Archbishop John O. Onalyekan was elected the President and on July 25, 2007 Most Rev. Dr. D.C. Okoh was elected the Vice President and Pastor P. F. Usman became the National Treasurer. He replaced Monsignor Hypolite Adigwe, who even though had served meritoriously had to give way, coming from the same Church Bloc as the new President.

© Christian Association of Nigeria 2008 || Designed by Bravenet Solutions