Archbishop Dr. John O. Onaiyekan (President)

Most Rev. Daniel Okoh
(Vice President)

Engr. S.L.S. Salifu
(General Secretary)

Supt. Apostle Akin Omojola JP
(Assistant General Secretary)

Pastor Paul F. Usman

Arc. M.A. Adeyo
(Centre Manager)

Mr. Cletus Alu
(Financial Officer)



In order to adequately cater for the Christian groups around the country, CAN established branches:

  1. Zonal Branches: made up of Church Groups in the State that make up of each geo-political Zone of the country.

  2. State Branches:   made up of Church Groups in each State.

  3. Local Government Branches made of Church Groups in the Local Government Areas of the Stat

Each branch of CAN may make bye laws to regulate its affairs and operation provided that such Byelaws are not in conflict with the constitution of the Association and must be approved by the NEC of CAN.

As of today CAN has 6 Zonal Branches and 37 States branches in including FCT apart from the Head Office in Abuja.  And so that informal, mustard seed gathering of 27 August 1976 has given birth to 5 mighty Church Groups with 6 Zonal Branches and 37 State branches including FCT.

As at now there are many applications from Churches and Church Groups which have the desire to join the Associations.  In fact, even a Church Group already in CAN is seeking for the Associations approval which will enable it to be recognized as an Ecumenical entity on its own within the Association.   Such growth and development could be said to be the work of the Holy Spirit, helping CAN to fulfill its mission to bring diverse Church Denominations together.  That mission is even more clearly set out in the Association’s Motto, Logo and Objectives as contained in the articles 3, 4 & 5 of the new Constitution – thus. 

Article 3 – motto – that they all may be one – John 17:21. 

Article 4 – logo – the Association logo shall be two circle.  The inner circle closing the map of Nigeria in which is placed on open Bible with cross in the back ground and in between the two circles shall be the name of the Association and its motto. The colour of the Association shall be green.

Article 5 – Objectives are as Stated earlier.  They spell out comprehensively, the mission of CAN.  It is in fulfiment of that mission that the Constitution makes provision for the establishment of branches in all States including FCT Abuja and the empowerment of the States to have Women (WOWICAN) and Youth (YOWICAN) Wings.

Zones:  The country is divided into 6 Zones in line with the Geo-political Zones of the Government.

1.    South-South Zone Akwa Ibom,  Bayelsa, Cross Rivers,Delta, Edo & Rivers.
2.     South West Zone Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Imo
3.     South East Zone Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo
4.     North Central Zone Benue, Kogi. Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger,
        Plateau and Federal Capital Territory (FCT)
5.     North West Zone Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Kastina, Kebbi,
        Sokoto and Zamfara.
6.     North East Zone Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba & Yobe.

STATES:  The country made up of 36 States and the Federal Capital Territerory of Abuja.  There is a CAN branch in each State and the FCT.  There are 37 branches in all.

WINGS OF CAN:  Each branch of the association shall establish a Youth wing called YOWICAN and or a Women Wing WOICAN.  Each wing shall have byelaw which shall be forwarded to the branch for consideration and approval.

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of CAN shall establish the National Youth Wing (YOWICAN) and Women Wing (WOICAN).  The membership of both the National YOWICAN and WOWICAN shall be drawn from various States branches of YOWICAN and YOWICAN.

© Christian Association of Nigeria 2008 || Designed by Bravenet Solutions